Analyzing Our Motives

self analysis

Why do you what you do? Do you ever question your motives? Sometimes our intentions are good, but at other times we only think that they’re good.

I tend to analyze my actions quite a bit, perhaps over-analyze at times. Over the years, I’ve learned that even good things can be done with the wrong intentions.

For example, when a person gives a compliment, why are they giving it? Do they simply want to compliment someone, or do they secretly want a compliment in return? If they’re having a bad day, do they walk around moping because they can’t pull themselves out of it, or because they want attention? When someone’s in pain, do they complain because they can’t keep their agony inside, or do they want to gain sympathy from those around them?

I’ve known people who only buy people gifts, so that they can later bribe them into buying them something in return. People who help others in need, but not because they truly want to help, but because they want to be seen doing it.

Even though I fail at times, sometimes really fail, I endeavor to make my intentions pure. I don’t want to do or say anything for selfish gain or because of the wrong motive. Admittedly due to my own weaknesses and the situation at hand, sometimes that can be easier said than done.

It takes time and a great deal of self-analysis to learn who we are and exactly why we do what we do, because sometimes even we don’t see ourselves clearly.

Me – Who am I? That’s primarily why this blog was initially created. To learn who I am, to better myself, so that I can be a better person for those around me.

Life is a journey, so why not make improvements to the road as we go?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Analyzing Our Motives

  1. Kylie says:

    I think it is good to ponder our intentions – often they are not what we think they are!

    Like

  2. BeautifullyUniqueSoul_81 says:

    Love! I consider myself a “work-in-progress.” I think about these things myself. Totally fell in love with psychology.

    Like

  3. I’m always working on self improvement! And it’s hard, oh man can it be challenging, but so very rewarding when all of the sudden, I realize that I’ve been taking baby steps – but they added up and I’ve actually become a better person! 🙂

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      It can be challenging, that’s for sure! Baby steps is all it takes. No one ever said it needs to happen in a day, plus how could it? I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of work to do. 🙂

      Like

  4. Really great post, we need to remember.

    Like

  5. suzjones says:

    Oh dear. I am always analysing myself. 🙂

    Like

  6. April says:

    I try to stay to being true all the time. I mean what I say, and I do what I want. The bad part is the insecurity I have of not saying the right thing, or not doing enough.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That’s a wonderful thing. If we can’t be true to ourselves than who can we be true to? I read a quotation the other day which said “I’m only responsible for what I say, not for what you understand.” Loved it! But, yes saying the wrong thing at the wrong time can still happen, and we can only do what we are mentally and physically capable of doing. As long as we’re trying, we’re on the right path.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

