Making Memories

laughed

There is nothing better than to see those you love with a smile on their face. During the past couple of weeks, I was given the wonderful opportunity to see endless smiles and hear contagious laughter. A long awaited road trip brought happiness to all of us, but watching my mother and son have fun was the best part of all.

We traveled over 5000 miles and enjoyed every moment of it. There was so much beauty to be seen, from rolling hills of forests and green pastures, to sky scrapers and the ocean. We had an amazing time.

It had been the first time in 24 years that I had seen the ocean. It was stunning! However, it was not as easy to get into the water as I had remembered. We tried, but our timing was not fit for newbies. The tide was coming in and no matter how much we tried to push through the waves, they wouldn’t let us in.

At one point, my mother decided to let her inner child out and ran toward the water. A wave instantly knocked her down. My son and I helped her to stand, as we all laughed over what had just happened. As soon as she was standing, another wave hit and knocked me down. We weren’t exactly dressed for swimming, but we sure got soaked! We re-learned how nasty ocean water tastes and smelled like fishermen, but we sure had a good time.

One of my favorite memories from the trip, is a simple one. We were searching the shore for sea shells. My mother found one and bent down to rinse it off. As soon as her hand touched the water, a big wave came up and hit her directly on the side of her face. She stood upright, and was laughing hysterically. Her smile and laughter was similar to that of a child’s. It was a moment that I can still see vividly in my mind. Her facial expression and reaction was that of pure happiness. To see her happy, means the world to me. I loved it!

It’s moments like those that remain in our memory. I am certain that years down the road, that moment will still be fresh in my mind. My mother will always be with me.

My son got to see NYC, which he’s wanted to see for years. He also got to experience the ocean for the first time. He was hesitant to get in at first. Then, he caught sight of a girl and off he went! Boys will be boys. Although his motivation came from a girl, I was highly impressed by his bravery. He was bouncing around in the ocean as if he had been out there several times before. One would never know that it was his first time. He smiled, a lot. He was so happy and had such a great time out there.

It was a long awaited trip, but the timing could not have been better. Everything went perfectly! The weather was terrific; sunny and warm. The beach wasn’t crowded at all, and the traffic was great in all 16 states we traveled through. We ended the trip with no sad stories to tell. Best of all, we made many, many wonderful memories.

Last year I realized just how short life is. One lesson I learned, was that if you have plans, don’t put them off. Don’t let opportunities pass you by, for they won’t last forever. Now is the time, as now is the only time that is guaranteed.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Making Memories

  1. I’m so glad that you had fun! Sounds like you made some great memories 🙂 And you make a great point – don’t let opportunities pass you by! Sounds like you guys made the most of all of the opportunities!

    Like

  2. April says:

    That warms my heart. Sounds like you guys had a great time for togetherness. 😀

    Like

  3. DailyMusings says:

    I have missed your posts but realized you must have been away on the trip you had spoken of. I am glad your son enjoyed New York City! I am glad the trip was as wonderful as you had hoped. I know you don not post photos usually but would love to see some of where you went 🙂 It sounds like a trip of memories forever… there is nothing like that. And to experience the ocean- how wonderful!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Thank you. I thought I would post while we were away, but I rarely had access to WiFi, so that was a no go. You’re right about the photos. I rarely post my own. However, the one on here was taken by me. Out of 800 pictures, I think any post I write about this trip will have at least one photo attached. 🙂 It would be neat to do collage though. I’ll toss that idea around and see what happens.

      Like

      • DailyMusings says:

        800 photos wow! Sounds like the makings of a beautiful Snapfish or Shutterfly book! Did you go to the beach/ocean while in NY? The beaches on Long Island are beautiful- very different from the New Jersey Shore beaches. Different sand, NJ has quiet waves, LI very strong and powerful. Looking forward to your future posts! 🙂

        Like

  4. Welcome back! I’m glad you had such a fabulous time! Your memories are vivid on this page. And they are beautiful.

    Like

  5. suzjones says:

    Oh wow! Road trips are the best. And yours sounds simply delightful. What great memories you made. 🙂

    Like

  6. Cindi says:

    This is such an uplifting and positive post! I know those memories will be part of your and your son’s (and Mom’s!) hearts forever … and by sharing them, you’ve reminded us of special moments in our hearts. Welcome home!

    Like

  7. I am so glad you had such a great trip! I can hear how much it meant to you through he tone of your writing. Isn’t it amazing when things turn out even better than you imagined? Those memories will last a lifetime and you can revisit any time. I love to hear a good old fashioned happy ending 😉

    Like

  8. pardenme says:

    It was the best of times ever. Thank you to my beautiful daughter and precious grandson for an amazing trip of a lifetime. I love you.

    Like

  9. stormy1812 says:

    I think what I love the most about this is how it followed your previous post of wanting to learn to be childlike. What you describe sounds like that inner-child to me, particularly with your mom and your son. It sounds like a most wonderful trip! I think even when there’s bumps in the road or a few hiccups in the trip, that just adds flavor…maybe not one that can be enjoyed immediately but it usually ends up being okay. Seeing smiles on our loved ones faces truly are priceless! Those smiles really add to our own enjoyment for sure. Glad to hear you had such a great trip! 🙂

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      It was a wonderful trip and our childlike behavior was exhibited a couple of times, especially my mother. I need to learn from her, which is exactly what she was doing. She was teaching me. We’re never too old to learn from out mothers. 🙂 To see them (her and my son) smile was the best part of all.

      Like

Please share your thoughts