Appreciation and Time Management

thank you

First of all, thank you! Even though I’ve been across the country and swamped with work, my readers (you) are still here each time I log on. That’s a wonderful feeling. The odd thing about blogging is that the people you meet, aren’t just invisible beings typing behind computer screens. They become friends. Many of you, I think about often and wonder how your specific situations are going.

For someone who has never gotten into blogging, the idea of making online friends (and caring about them) may seem absurd. Let’s face it, we’ll likely never meet face to face. Sometimes, if we’re lucky someone will post a photo of themselves to give us a clue as to what they look like. But many times, such is this case with me, no photo will ever get posted. So they remain our faceless friends.

But for those of us who do blog, we understand this concept. We understand that genuine relationships can be formed, and that those faceless friends are real people, with real lives. I appreciate each of you, even those who I sometimes butt heads with.

This summer has been a very busy one and because of that I have neglected my blog. That for me, is unacceptable. This is where time management comes into play. I work from home, which is wonderful. It allows me to work in the mornings or in the middle of the night, which I often do both. Then I have my blog, my son and my life. Finding time to do everything without neglecting anything can be tough.

To correct this, I’m in the process of changing my daily schedule around. For those of you with similar lives, how do you schedule your day? Do you have a schedule or do you just wing it?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Appreciation and Time Management

  1. Doobster418 says:

    I work from home as well, and it keeps me pretty busy during the day. But there are times when I don’t have a conference call or a WebEx and have finished whatever research or “paperwork” is due, so I will go to WordPress and read posts. I may also use my lunch break (when I have time to take one) to read and/or write posts. And I also tend to read some posts right before I go to bed at night. Bottom line, though, I wing it.

    And now, if you’ll excuse me, I have a conference call to participate in.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Winging it seems to be a popular response. I suppose as long as everything gets taken care of, then winging it works. Like you, I also log on during my down times. Of course that’s if I don’t have something else awaiting my attention.

      Like

  2. Teela Hart says:

    I wing it.
    Summer is a busy time for me.
    My children are out of school for the summer.
    All schedules go out the window in the summer months.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Summers are busy! These short 3 months are fun with the kids though, aren’t they? Granted, the school year can be nice too. It’s certainly more routine then.

      Like

  3. For me, summer is a time for “winging it.” Schedules are erratic, unlike the school year. During those 9 months, I set aside a regular time of day to write. Whenever you have the time to blog, I am inspired by your posts.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I agree. Summer is a great time to wing it. Otherwise, we may be so stuck on a strict schedule that we miss out on the fun of summer entirely. Thank you! I appreciate that.

      Like

  4. I work from home and usually I will use my lunch break to write up a post or work on some drafts – and then set them to publish that night or the next morning.
    But, I’m in the middle of switching up my routine, too – and am finding it hard to make writing a priority! 🙂

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      A lunch break. I need to set a time for that. My lunch happens when/if I remember to take the time for it. Bad me. Out of curiosity, how many drafts do you have sitting in your box? I draft a lot of my work too, too much probably and then it just sits there.

      Like

  5. I work full time out of the house. Have a large family and friends life. And I just write every chance I get. It’s my relaxing and my energy.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      It is relaxing, isn’t it? It’s the ‘me’ time that we all need. Unlike you, I don’t have a large family – not near me anyway. I suppose that should give me more time then shouldn’t it? But then again, large family or not, we always find something to spend our time on. We just need more time. That’s all there is to it.

      Like

      • I think giving your time to your family is the best thing ever. During the week it’s hard to do anything with ours because everyone works and is scattered. But I have begun making more efforts to do things during the week.

        And, I do not have a little one at home. THAT is the biggest difference when it comes to time. I can’t imagine having a little one at home and blogging regular.

        Like

  6. stormy1812 says:

    I’m still pretty new to your blog but I do always enjoy it. I understand your feeling the desire to apologize for taking a step back from your blog for a bit, but I get the impression most understand that life (at least the one outside of the computer) often takes precedence. That said, I can relate. I’m still pretty new to your blog and I feel bad I haven’t been following as regularly as I would have but I came on board just as I hit one of the worst ruts I’ve experienced. It’s going to take some time and real effort to get back into the swing of things at my own blog and being around as regularly as I had been but because WordPress is such a positive atmosphere, it’ll be worth it. Anyway, it is nice to have developed those friendships…I know that’s part of how I am getting out of my rut…is due to friends I’ve made through WordPress. It’s not how two people meet, it’s how they treat each other and interact and email, WordPress or other electronic format can be just as legit for connecting with someone as face to face. 🙂

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I’m sorry to hear that you’ve going through a rough time. I do hope that it’s getting better for you. Ruts can be hard to get out of sometimes, but the friends we make certainly help us along the way. It’s great that we can connect with so many people on here or wherever it may be. I’m hoping to get back into blogging at least twice a week. Once my son goes back to school, that may free up a few extra minutes too. We shall see, but I’m so thankful that you dropped by to leave these wonderful messages. Thank you!

      Like

  7. April says:

    I wing it. But I’m easily distracted. 😀 Like you, I have met some virtual friends, and would really like to meet face-to-face. It’s good to be busy, we know you aren’t forgetting us.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Easily distracted. That’s my problem too. We visit Missouri ever now and then, so maybe one day we’ll have coffee together. You never know. It would be neat to meet some virtual folk face to face and others, well maybe not. 🙂

      Like

Please share your thoughts

