Blog Hop II – The Name Game

nanopoblano_thumb3

Mark Bialczak, as team coordinator for Team Pepper of this year’s NaBloPoMo came up with a great idea! He has started a Blog Hop called the Name Game.

I was chosen by Colleen from The Chatter Blog to join the fun. Thank you, Colleen!

Here Are the Rules:

1. Write a paragraph or two about somebody from an ordinary walk of life with an unordinary name. It can either be a true story about somebody you know with that name, or a fictional piece about somebody with a name you made up.

2. After you’re done posting your story, send me an email to markbialczak@gmail.com with your Blog Hop II, your blog name and either TRUE STORY or MADE IT UP in the subject line.

3. Pick another Nano Poblano team member from the home page and tag them on their About page. Try to spread the wealth around from Fish of Gold’s original blog hop to start, but duplication is OK as the month rolls along.

4. The writing cutoff is Nov. 28. By the end of Nov. 29, email to me at markbialczak@gmail.com a list with a guess of TRUE STORY or MADE UP for each post on the blog hop. Put Blog Hop II, Final Guesses in the subject line.

5. The Nano Poblano team member with the most correct answers wins a special prize, which I will mail to them. That means you will have to email me your address if you win.

6. Add your link to the chain of writers.

7. Have fun.

nablopomo_november_thumb

Here is my contribution:

Years ago, I worked at a large company where I was in charge of handling the legal affairs of all of our employees. It was a stressful job at times, but one in which I found great pleasure in, even when being yelled at.

The employees didn’t care for me much, but only because I was the one who took their money. It was really them who took their own money by the choices that they had made, but they needed someone to blame other than themselves. That meant me.

I memorized the majority of their names which made my job much easier, and all of them were fairly common. That was until the day that Dorcas Rumble called me. As much as I tried during our multiple conversations, I could never call her Dorcas. It was too similar to dork. How can I call someone a dork and then take money from them?

Her name stuck with me. I couldn’t get it out of my head. A few weeks after that first phone call with her, I made a mistake at work. Out loud and without hesitation, I said of and to myself, “You’re such a Dorcas Rumble!”

Who has contributed so far?

Markbialczak

Silver Threading

The Chatter Blog

I pick Linda GHill to be the next Pepper to add their story.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Blog Hop II – The Name Game

  1. markbialczak says:

    Well now I will be calling myself a Dorcas Rumble for not putting the link instruction on Blog Hop II up front at the start! What a great story, mewhoamI. And thank you for the fix. Very much. Nano Poblano teammates stick together, obviously. 🙂

    Like

  2. Great story and I know what I’d be guessing for true and false but as a No NaBloPoMo i’ll keep my thoughts to myself but hope you will also post whether true or false at the end of the month. 🙂

    Like

  3. You know the name “Dorcas” was in the movie “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” and I’ve met others with that name as well. So when I hear that name I think of that movie. But my kids did start using that as a reference name instead of saying “dork” many many years ago. Here’s a little compassion being sent to all of the Dorcas name peoples!!!!!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I’ve never seen that movie, but may have to look it up now. It’s great that your kids learned early on not to call people names. We were brought up the same way and having an odd last name myself, I got called all sorts of weird names in school. Having been there, causes a person to be very cautious about what they say to others.

      Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I may have misread what you wrote… Do they call people “Dorcas” now rather than dork? If so, that’s completely understandable. It’s hard to get a reference like that out of your head. 🙂

      Like

  4. suzjones says:

    Dorcas is actually biblical. She lived in the seaport of Joppa and she was a dressmaker.

    Like

  5. A.PROMPTreply says:

    There is also a Dorcas in Larkrise to Candleford series. I had no idea it was biblical though!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Blog Hop II – The Name Game | lindaghill

  7. Pingback: Blog Hop II–The Name Game | the EXCESSIVE GARDENER

  8. Pingback: Blog Hop II–The Name Game | BOOKING IT

  9. Pingback: Blog Hop II: The Name Game | Mindful Digressions

  10. Pingback: Blog Hop II – The Name Game | Fish Of Gold

  11. Pingback: Blog Hop II: The Name Game | Crawford's Creative Corner

  12. Pingback: BLOG HOP II: THE NAME GAME | Love Marriage Worms

  13. Pingback: Nano Poblano Name Game Blog Hope | Nerd in the Brain

  14. Pingback: Nano Poblano Name Game Blog Hop | Nerd in the Brain

  15. Pingback: The Name Game – A Nano Poblano Blog Hop | Blog Apocalypse

  16. Pingback: Nano Poblano Name Game Blog Hop | Drunk on Life

  17. Pingback: The Name Game – A Nano Poblano Blog Hop | Eclectic odds n sods

  18. Pingback: Nano Poblano: Now it’s time to send in your guesses for Blog Hop II The Name Game | markbialczak

Please share your thoughts