My Day – In Rare Poem Style

morning night

I don’t write poems, but for the sake of the daily prompt, I’ve decided to make an exception. So here goes…

In the morning when I rise

The man is gone for it is wise

For him to work and make the pay

While I work from home today

I throw off the sheets and get out of bed

And head to the laundry room for it I dread

A load of clothes thrown in the wash

An easy chore as our clothes are not posh

Then off to the kitchen before my son gets sad

Quickly I make a bowl of cereal for the lad

After he’s happy, I pour my cup of joe

Then off to the computer I go

I read through blogs

And write a post of my own

Then I must quickly change my tone

For I have a writing job that I do alone

Carefully to the assignment I tend

Until it’s complete and ready to send

My work is now done

Now it’s time for fun

A long workout and sweat on my head

Now my physical body has been fed

Off to the shower for I know I stink

Probably similar to a dirty wild mink

Time for studies with my son

He’s got a lot to learn before he’s twenty one

The day quickly approaches its end

Time to make dinner for the family to attend

We sit and chat

Laugh and get fat

Then it’s time to kick back

So we can stay on track

For family time is crucial

We never consider it futile

Then off to bed everyone goes

For another wonderful day has come to a close


Since I do not write poems, this was certainly a challenge. It was a new style of writing for me, but I must admit that it was fun to do.

This post is a response to the Daily Post prompt: Rare Medium

Describe a typical day in your life — but do it in a form or in a medium you’ve rarely — if ever – used before. If you’re a photoblogger, write a poem. If you’re a poet, write an open letter. If you’re a travel blogger, write a rant.

 

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to My Day – In Rare Poem Style

  1. You managed this so very good 🙂

    Like

  2. Doobster418 says:

    Very nice job. But I do have one question for you. What does a dirty wild mink smell like? And more important, how do you know what one smells like?

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Since they are somewhat similar to a ferret, I would assume that their smell is similar too. I’ve smelled ferrets and they stink! Plus since you asked, I looked it up. Their smell has been described as “more unbearable than that produced by skunks”.

      Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Also, thank you! I figured that if you could write a poem, then maybe I could too. 🙂

      Like

  3. I like it! 🙂 Very catchy!

    Like

  4. DailyMusings says:

    Well done! Enjoyed it and got a real feel for your day.

    Like

  5. velvetmp says:

    Hahaha love this

    Like

  6. mommyx4boys says:

    Awesomely done, are you sure you’re new at poetry this was amazing.

    Like

  7. Pingback: My Day’s Musings(Attempt at poetry) | It's Mayur Remember?

  8. Dilip says:

    So beautiful! Enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

  9. suzjones says:

    You did well. It was fun to read your day in this way.

    Like

  10. raroto says:

    We sit and chat laugh and get fat – now that’s a great way to spend the day! I like!

    Like

  11. April says:

    A very nice job – you DO have some poet in you. 🙂

    Like

  12. Great poem! Love the way it came full circle. 🙂 Cate

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Cate, thank you! It was enjoyable to write. The thought of some of the rhyming words that I could have used, had me laughing all the way through the writing of it.

      Like

  13. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Rare Medium | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Please share your thoughts