It’s All About Me

friends

Have you ever met someone who thinks that the whole world should revolve around them? They behave in a way that says, “What matters is my happiness. My success. My feelings. It’s my way or the highway.” Why do people behave that way?

When something good happens to someone we should rejoice with them, not resent them. Here are some real life examples…

Your friend just got a substantial pay raise. Be happy for him! Don’t frown at him and walk away because you haven’t gotten one in years.

Your friend got a new car. Good for them! Don’t criticize them for how they spend their money, just because you can’t afford a new one.

Your friend is due to have her third child. Congratulate her! Don’t walk away pouting without even giving her a smile, because she’s had three and you’ve had none.

Your friend is thrilled to be getting married for the second time, after a failed first marriage years ago. Be happy for her! Don’t refuse to attend her wedding, because of how “unfair” it is that she’s already had that experience once, but you never have.

Wait…these are their friends? That’s what they claim.

What is a friend? A friend is someone who smiles with you, is happy for you and rejoices with you. What a friend is not, is jealous, envious or resentful. Friend or not, we should be happy for others when good things happen to them, regardless of our own wants and needs. Their happiness is not about us. It’s about them.

Shouldn’t we want others to be happy?

There will always be someone who has something that we don’t, or something that we want, but that doesn’t give us the liberty to be angry at them because of it.

How we respond when others experience success says a lot about our character.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to It’s All About Me

  1. Irwineyes says:

    Having a good vibe from others will open the gate for greater opportunities on your end.

    Like

  2. I’d never do any of those things! But I’m an evil atheist controlled by Satan so my kindness must be serving evil! Sorry I’ve just had too many people give me shite today…

    Like

  3. George says:

    Very true words

    Like

  4. Very good mantras to carry with us.

    Like

  5. April says:

    I always support the success of others. My successes? More times than not are negative. I’m turning it around though, because I am worthy of treating myself as I do others. 🙂

    Like

  6. Glynis Jolly says:

    The world is full of the “me, me, me” people. It even trickles into families without being seen at first. There will always be these types. Nothing we say or do is going to change them. It’s a personality flaw that plagues society.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      It sure is, Glynis. These people are everywhere. It’s disappointing, but are we to do? Just carry on and let them live however they choose, I suppose. It’s ultimately their own life that they’re putting a damper on.

      Like

  7. Great reminders. Friendship isn’t always easy but this kind of outline sure helps keep it clear and easy to follow!!!!

    Like

  8. suzjones says:

    And then there are those who do so much good for others but in doing so, draw the attention to themselves. Sadly, there are many people who believe that the world revolves around them rather than around the sun.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That is a good point too. It’s all about a person’s intentions. Are they doing good in order to be seen, or out of the pure goodness of their own heart? Intentions certainly matter and people can ‘smell’ it when they are not pure.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I always been irritated with people that thought the world revolved around them, because clearly it revolves around me. I’m pretty sure that’s a scientific fact!

    🙂

    But, I concur, there are plenty of times I’ve had to stop myself in the middle of a sentence and just admit that I was jealous and needed to deal with that!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Ha! Good one! Same here. Jealousy does rise up from time to time, but some recognize it and deal with it appropriately, while others let it control them. It’s good that you can see it in yourself when it happens.

      Like

  10. So true, I can only agree with you 😉

    Like

Please share your thoughts

