One is Enough

clone

There are seldom enough hours in the day to accomplish everything that I need to do. Working, taking care of the house, running errands, and assisting my son with his studies, is only a small portion of my daily responsibilities. Would it be nice to have a clone of myself who could help out? Of course it would. But, no way!

One is enough. I can’t imagine having another me running around. Sure it would be nice to hand over the cleaning of the bathroom, and the errands to someone else, but I’m certain that the other me would drive me nuts. It’s already hard to enough to live with myself some days.

I’ve heard stories about men having multiple wives, so obviously that suits some people, which is fine. It’s their life. They can live it however they choose. But when I imagine that type of lifestyle, I think of the many conflicts that could arise in a home. Jealousy, arguments, unsolicited advice, and competition. Add all of that to emotional roller-coasters and PMS, and you’ve got a house full of ticking time bombs. No thank you.

That’s how I imagine my life if I had a clone. All of my emotions, stress, insecurities, doubts, and fears would be doubled. Granted, I would get a lot more done. Procrastination would probably become non-existent, and my house would be cleaner than ever before. All of my projects would get completed, and I might finally have time to read the hundreds of books sitting on my bookshelf.

That all sounds great and almost tempting, but I doubt that the trade off would be worth it. Plus, I like quiet time and if the other me talks as much as I do, I’m afraid that eventually she’d be locked up in another room.

So if I were given the choice to have myself cloned, would I do it? No way. One is enough.


This post is in response to The Daily Post prompt: Clone Wars

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to One is Enough

  1. I agree. One of me is enough too πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. stormy1812 says:

    Have you seen that movie “Multiplicity” with Michael Keaton and Andy McDowell? lol cute flick about that very topic! There’s all the ethical questions that go along with it too such as wreaking havoc by having an “evil” twin and what not. It could just make life harder in some ways so yes I agree…one version is not only good enough but the best! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I don’t think I have, but will have to watch it now. There would be a lot of ethical issues behind it. I can’t imagine having an evil me to deal with. Eek! That’s a scary thought. So for that reason alone, yes – one is best!

      Like

  3. Hmmm……am not sure I could handle living with myself…probably best if I leave that to my husband and go on along my merry way as normal……. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. amommasview says:

    Haha… Love your take on it. And I agree, would probably feel the same way myself…

    Like

  5. DailyMusings says:

    agreed for me too! πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Prajakta says:

    Well… another thing for me would be that I would be identity-less! Why me when my clone would do it just as well and perhaps with lesser whines? I like my sense of self πŸ™‚ Good take!

    Like

  7. And wouldn’t having one of more of ‘me’ or ‘you’ also mean that ‘me’ or ‘you’ would have things they need done as well????? More work. More needs. More to worry about. One’s enough.

    Like

  8. markbialczak says:

    I agree, Me Who. No Me Me Who Who. πŸ™‚ I like the one of you just fine, too. No Doublemint commercials needed.

    Like

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    I agree with you. Reading your third paragraph, I began to think of how it was between my mom and I when I was a teenager. The same conflicts were there and both of us thought we were right 100% and the other one was wrong. Turbulent years, that’s for sure.

    Like

  10. April says:

    I have often dreamed about having a clone. But I’m with you, I would have double the troubles.

    Like

  11. mojoshawn says:

    What a fun read. I agree with you that “one is enough”. Sometimes, I can actually only take about 5/8ths of me. πŸ˜‰

    Like

Please share your thoughts

