It’s Not a Game

seizure

I read an article this morning about the ‘choking game’ which brought back a lot of memories, and not good ones. My friends and I used to play this game and evidently kids still do today, which is frightening. It shouldn’t even be considered a game. Kids put their lives at risk each time they play it.

We were in middle school when the ‘choking game’ was introduced. After hearing about it, my two friends and I rushed to one of their homes to try it. I won’t explain how the game is played, because it is not my intention to promote it.

My friend Kim went first. We were smart in the sense that we played the game while sitting on the bed. Kim passed out, but only for a few seconds. Then it was my turn. Causing yourself to pass out is a very odd feeling.

The room started spinning, and I was looking through what appeared like heat waves from a fire. A moment later, I was out. When I awoke a few seconds later, an eerie feeling came over me. It’s a bit unnerving to lose time. What happened while I was unconscious?

Then the game took a bad turn…

The last person to go was my friend Stacy. She got into position and began. Within a few moments, she passed out. However, things didn’t go as planned. Stacy immediately started having a seizure. Her body was shaking out of control and she fell off the bed. Her room was small and there was wooden furniture all around her.

At only 12 years old at the time, Kim and I had never seen anyone have a seizure before. We had no idea what to do and no one was home, but us. Stacy was rolling and shaking on the floor uncontrollably. We tried to hold onto her, but we couldn’t. Her body was moving everywhere.

So we waited it out, while shielding her from hitting the furniture. It was horrible.

After a few minutes, she finally came out of it. We were in shock staring at her, wondering if she was okay. She looked up at us and then around the room, and asked what had happened. It was only after we told her about the seizure, that she confided in us that she had suffered with seizures her entire life.

Having not ever played that game before, she didn’t know that it would cause her to have one. But it did, and it was awful to watch her go through that.

When a person risks their life to do something, it is not a game. People die from doing this. As mentioned in the article I referenced above, “We have had four of our young people die from the choking game in the last three years.”

You may think that your kids would never try such a thing, and I’m sure that the thought never crossed my mother’s mind either. But, kids will be kids. They explore and seek out new ways to have fun. That’s just part of growing up.

However, it’s our responsibility as parents to advise our children not to do such things, whether we think they’ll try it or not.

We were all kids once and we all made bad choices, but our kids don’t have to make the same ones.



“Typing my heart out” for Nano Poblano/NaBloPoMo.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to It’s Not a Game

  1. mommyx4boys says:

    We played this game as well when I was younger, I didnt know people still did it. Many parents dont realize how dangerous it is, and that its not something to take lightly.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I think you’re right. Many people don’t realize how bad it can turn out, and I think when we were kids many people didn’t even know about it. It’s a scary thing for kids to do.

      Like

  2. Wow…what an experience that must have been at the ripe old age of 12….I’ll bet you and your friend who watched that aged 10 years instantly! I’m so sorry you had to go through that. Very well done of you to bring this topic to the attention of others and also I very much appreciated how you didn’t go into detail in order NOT to promote it for those that might end up reading it and get ideas.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I think we did! We so frightened and helpless. Until seeing that article, I had no idea people were still doing this. It certainly needs to be brought to people’s attention and without the details. Media always seems to add details…why? They don’t need a ‘how to’. They need a ‘why not to.’

      Like

  3. Good to warn parents about this one. Makes me wonder where the parents were when all this was going on.

    Like

  4. Fluency says:

    I never knew such a game existed but that’s just downright horrible. I am glad to know that your friend is alright, though.

    Like

  5. I’ve never heard (thankfully I think) of such a game. How terrifying for you as a youngster and a good lesson learnt.

    Like

  6. Swoosieque says:

    OH my gosh, how frightening! I’m an oldie but goodie, we didn’t play games like this, but I remember walking in on my sons, when they had some buddies over, and they too were playing some sort of “fainting” game – not involving choking but still blocking blood flow. Anyway, I blew my stack! They needed to know just how dangerous the stupid “game” was.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Good timing! I’m so glad you caught them in the act. Kids don’t realize just how dangerous that ‘game’ can be. They don’t realize that they’re putting their life at risk. Thankfully you were there in time to stop them from continuing.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis Jolly says:

      I didn’t know about the choking game but I did participate in a game where you force yourself to pass out with the help of a friend. I won’t say how it is done here because this not to promote it. Chances are what you saw your son doing is the same as what I did back in high school.

      It’s awful how we find ways to kill brain cells.

      Liked by 2 people

      • mewhoami says:

        Glynis, it’s interesting how many of us participated in this ‘game’ or one similar to it. Back then, we (or at least I) had no idea I was killing brain cells by doing it. Imagine the brain functions we would have today, had we just left ourselves alone.

        Like

  7. April says:

    I don’t understand why the news has to give details. Kids are impulsive, and while I had the talk with my son, I prayed he wasn’t doing anything to harm himself while at a friends.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Exactly. Why on earth do they give kids instructions on how to do things? Like kids really need the added help, or motivation. They try enough bad things already. I’m glad that you were able to have the talk with your son. So important.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

