Universal Remote

window

Years ago while having a sleepover at my friend Nancy’s house, we were looking for ways to stay entertained. As we walked around her house trying to find something to do, Nancy remembered that her mother had recently bought a universal remote.

I had never seen one, so she ran over to show it to me. After explaining to me how it was supposed to work, and that it could control any television, two thoughts came to my mind. How universal was it, and how far would the signal go?

The neighbor behind her lived down a small hill, which meant that we could easily see through her windows by standing on a chair, and looking over the fence. We grabbed the remote and two chairs, and quietly made our way outside and through the backyard. Reaching the fence, we set up our chairs and climbed up.

The view into her neighbor’s window could not have been better. She had the blinds open and to our advantage, she was already sitting on the sofa watching television.

What should we try first?” Nancy asked. “Let’s see if we can turn her TV off,” I replied.

With one click of the remote, the neighbor’s TV turned off. We couldn’t hear her, as her windows were closed, but we saw her turn a little in her seat and look around. She reached over and grabbed what I assume was her remote, and the TV came back on.

Of course, we were giggling already. What next? The volume! Nancy slowly started turning the volume up. We had no idea how loud it was, but soon the woman jumped off the couch. With remote in hand, she angrily turned the volume back down. Then she started pacing in her living room, trying to figure out what was going on.

By this time, Nancy and I were laughing uncontrollably.

After a couple of minutes, the woman calmed down and took her seat on the sofa again. We probably should have stopped then, but how often do you get to do something like that?

Nancy grabbed the remote again. Looking at me for an idea, I said “Just start turning it off and on, and see what she does.” So that’s what she did. Off…on…off…on…off…on.

At that point, the woman jumped from the couch again, and started screaming out of fear!

Nancy and I were laughing so hard that we fell off of our chairs. In a rush we climbed back on, and saw the lady practically running through her living room. She was terrified!

Finally she stopped, and turned toward the window. Then, we were terrified. Fortunately for us, we had turned off all the lights so it was rather dark in Nancy’s backyard. Plus we were quick, so right before her eyes would have met our location, we ducked out of sight.

We got away with it and although it was highly entertaining, we never did it again. Scarring one neighbor for life was one too many, and I’d apologize if she still lived there.

Imagine the haunting story she’s had to tell for all these years!


β€œTyping my heart out” for Nano Poblano/NaBloPoMo.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Universal Remote

  1. shoereader says:

    I wish I could do this.. Haha you evil people..

    Like

  2. This was so funny to read! It brought to mind some of my own youthful pranks, so I understood exactly what you meant about how it was entertaining yet you never did that again. Thanks for sharing this amusing memory! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Doobster418 says:

    Well, I never messed with a neighbor like that, but we used to make prank calls to drugstores and tobacco shops. I don’t even know if it’s still around, but there used to be pipe tobacco under the brand of Sir Walter Raleigh. It came packaged in a round can, or what they called a “tin.” We would call a place that sold it and would ask, “Do you have Sir Walter Raleigh in a can.” When told that they did, we’d say, “Well let him out before he suffocates,” and then hang up the phone literally rolling on the floor laughing. We thought it was hilarious. Of course, that was in the days before caller ID, so it’s probably not something kids could get away with today.

    Like

  4. Now why is it that imaging you doing this makes me find this so funny? πŸ™‚ Maybe because I wonder if it was really “years” ago. Or was it really “weeks ago”? Hahahhahahahahaa! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. That’s a riot! Cruel but very funny πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Oh my goodness… I am still chuckling! I can sooo see this scenario! You were the kind of kid I was. I might still do something like that…as long as I didn’t cause anyone to have a heart attack! LOL! Nah… probably not but I would want to!!! Great story! πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. Pingback: Borrowed or Stolen? | Me – Who am I?

  8. Pingback: Ah, Youth…and Pranks! | Some Kernels of Truth

  9. Hmm, not sure if I’m missing it somehow, but I don’t see my pingback; I wrote about a couple of my own pranks and linked to your post which inspired me. πŸ™‚ Here it is if you’d like to read it! http://somekernelsoftruth.com/2014/11/13/ah-youthand-pranks/comment-page-1/#comment-1678

    Like

  10. Oops — the pingback is there now! Must have shown up after I checked and commented…sorry. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. suzjones says:

    That poor woman. That’s some ghost story she has for her grandchildren. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  12. April says:

    hahaha! You sneaky one, but the story made me laugh and the poor woman’s expense. πŸ™‚

    Like

Please share your thoughts

