What Shapes Us?

people

People come in all shapes and sizes. Some of our shapes are due to genetics and others due to lifestyle choices. The outside is seen by everyone and sometimes how we got to be that shape can be seen too. But our external shape is only a small part of who we are. What about our internal shape?

Internally, each of us are shaped differently too; our thinking, our opinions, our beliefs. What shapes us? Our upbringing, our peers, society, and media, just to name a few.

My mother had a lot to do with who I became. She taught me morals, values and how to love others unconditionally. She also taught me how to respect others. She never taught me that anything was due to me, but instead that I should earn what I receive. She taught me to keep an open mind, to hear others, and to respect differing opinions than my own.

Circumstances taught me to see people for who they really are. To not judge a book by its cover, to give them a chance, maybe even a second chance, or a third.

People who hurt me taught me how to forgive.

Those who have passed away taught me to live, and to appreciate life and the people around me.

My beliefs were formed over the years by experiences, circumstances and the people I was surrounded by.

The only thing that wasn’t shaped by anyone or anything, besides myself, were my opinions. I have always been opinionated, but also willing to see things from a different perspective. I admittedly don’t know everything. Who does? Learn from others. Listen to them. Everyone has something to teach.

A person’s opinion of another is their own. Not mine. My opinions are based strictly off of how someone has treated me, how I’ve known that person to be; not by how others perceive them.

My opinions of world matters are based off what I research and see around me first-hand, not from what the media tells me to believe. What I see as wrong or right is based off my own beliefs, and how I feel that those things will either benefit, or be a detriment to the world and those around me.

Although people, circumstances and our upbringing do help to shape us, we still have ultimate control over who we become. We can come from a broken home and live a victorious life. We can come from the streets and earn a PhD.

We can break destructive cycles in our family; racism, drugs, alcoholism, and abuse. We can do anything we set our minds to do. We can overcome.

We don’t have to be a product of circumstance. We can shape ourselves into whoever we desire to be.

What has shaped you? Is your shape still being worked on?


This post is for SoCS, hosted by LindaGHill.

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “shape.” Use it as a noun or a verb, put the word in your post or simply use it as your theme – whatever comes off the top of your head! Rule: Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What Shapes Us?

  1. My shape is always being worked on, I believe that we should always be changing and growing – but what a great stream of consciousnesses today!

    Like

  2. idiotwriter says:

    Always working on shaping things…not too hard though hey 😛 Nice post IB

    Like

  3. DailyMusings says:

    Great post and I love all the points you make. We should all be a work in progress, bettering ourselves as we go along. 🙂

    Like

  4. LindaGHill says:

    I think if I ever stopped trying to shape myself for the better, that would be the time when I’m no longer fit for society. Great post, my dear. 🙂

    Like

  5. Glynis Jolly says:

    Growing up during the 1960s gave me an interesting perception of things. Many still hold true today for me. Make love, not war. What’s wrong with the colors black, yellow, red, and brown? Don’t judge a book by its cover. Don’t sweat the small stuff and it’s all small. And the list goes on and on. Yes, some of those are older than the 60s and some are younger. Still, this is what I live by. There isn’t anyway I can be racist without losing parts of my family. White, red, yellow, brown and black all reside within the family tree now. As for what is in the news about the world — the news only shows the bad. I’d rather go visit and meet the individuals who live in all those places.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I agree wholeheartedly with everything you said. I especially liked “it’s all small.” We as people have such a habit of making small things into giants. As far as negative news go, I agree. I rather meet the people for myself. The world isn’t all bad, not at all, but the media sure wants us to believe that it is – to cause division among everyone. The world would be a much better place if we didn’t have people telling us to hate one another.

      Like

  6. suzjones says:

    Right now my shape is round! 😛
    Seriously though, we are all works in progress and we are all entitled to have opinions based on our perceptions and circumstances. There are always three sides to an argument – yours, mine and the correct one 😉
    I really enjoyed reading your post and agree with every word. 🙂

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Round can be a good shape. 🙂 I agree with you. We are all allowed to have an opinion, regardless of who may disagree. And yes, there are always three sides. I do wish more people would realize that. Thank you very much!

      Like

  7. April says:

    While I like to think that my shape is round, I am finally seeing what I have grown up surrounded by many things which have shaped me. Fortunately, I’m learning that I do have control, once I get rid of all my false beliefs once and for all,.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

