Joys of Living Without

family

Imagine living during a time when there were no distractions. A time before TVs, computers and phones. Our main source of entertainment would be the people in our own homes.

Family time would include the whole family. No one would be hiding in their room playing video games. No one would be sitting alone, sending texts on their phones to friends miles away or even to the person right next to them.

In the evenings, spouses would be with each other, instead of being separated by computer screens and TVs. They would appreciate each others’ presence and make eye contact during conversation.

Dinners around the dining table would be a regular occurrence, and no TV would be playing in the background. No one would be staring down at a mobile device. All of the attention would be on those sitting at the table. The family would talk about their day, discuss school and work. They would laugh together.

People would feel loved, cared about and appreciated.

Imagine a time when family still existed.

 


This post is part of SoCS: With/Without

This week your Prompt will be β€œwith/without.” Choose one to write about or include both. Write about any subject you wish, as always.

Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Joys of Living Without

  1. Doobster418 says:

    I would imagine that if we didn’t have all of those electronic gadgets and devices to distract us from having to spend an overabundance of “quality time” with all of the other members of our families, the rate of familicide in this country would skyrocket! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Ha! In this day and age, you may be right. I’d say that’s mainly because people don’t know to treat each other with love and respect anymore. They’ve strayed so far away from family values, that they wouldn’t know how to handle quality time. Sadly, ‘quality’ time is a foreign concept for many families these days.

      Like

  2. LindaGHill says:

    Back in the days when these things didn’t exist, there was so much more to do. No such things as washing machines, dishwashers, … even back before the grocery store was just around the corner and cows had to be milked … there were many other distraction. As Doobster said, something must be done to keep us from spending so much time under each other’s noses that we kill each other! πŸ™‚
    Thanks for joining in SoCS, my dear. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I don’t know if those things would be considered distractions, as much as they would be considered work. At the end of the day though, families spent time together. That in my opinion, is what is missing today. As a child, I loved spending time with my family; uninterrupted family time.

      You’re welcome and thank you for the prompt!

      Like

  3. Sammy D. says:

    It isn’t hard to imagine what this would be like – just impossible to be the family willing to actually do it! Sort of like how we all say we’re going to scale back at the holiday frenzy! Good job writing this piece.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I agree with you there! We try to put all those distractions away and enjoy family time, but it’s easy to ‘mess up’ with so many options available for distraction. Thank you!

      Like

  4. Teela Hart says:

    Great times were the times I spent with my family. Cell phones, video games, and internet had yet to be an issue and I have the sense that the family bonds are weakened greatly by these things.
    Great post.

    Like

  5. agrudzinsky says:

    Nobody would be writing or reading blogs. Isn’t it ironic to make a blog post about it?

    Like

  6. Khai says:

    This is part of why I live a minimalist lifestyle. I love my tech, and I’m dependent on it for some of my social interaction (friends around the country will do that) and I’m in a long distance relationship helped by my phone, but when I am physically with someone I do the best I can to be physically and emotionally and mentally present with them. Laptops, tvs, cellphones all get turned off or silenced. We look at each other when we speak. We are heard.

    I’m housesitting for my parents right now, and my little brother still lives here. Every night, when he gets off work, we’ve eaten dinner together and sat on the deck enjoying the evening, talking, before going off to talk to our respective girlfriends. Every morning, we drink coffee and discuss the plans for the day together. Our relationship is growing both because he is now an adult and able to have adult conversations (I’m 8 years his elder; it was not always the case that we were on the same level) and also because we have this uninterrupted time to really hear each other.

    I’m a great cook. The only rule for eating my cooking is that you eat it with me, and we talk kindly to one another while we do so.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I’m so glad you get this! There is a time and place for electronics, but should never come before our loved ones. Eye contact and face to face communication is quickly becoming lost in this generation. It’s scary to think of what future generations will be like. Will they even know how to carry on a simple conversation?

      It’s wonderful that you are spending this, uninterrupted quality time with your brother, and showing him how much enjoyment can come from it. They need to know that there is so much more to life than what they get by through technology. As far as dinner, I think you’ve set a great rule.

      Like

  7. I remember it fondly……. thank you.

    Like

  8. morgaine620 says:

    A somehow sad post. I think it is difficult to get the balance right. For a while I tried to not get on the computer while the kids are with us. But now they are all the time on theirs besides when we go out and I somehow get bored…. so I am back. Still I know my husband and me have more conversations than the average 10mins…… at least something πŸ™‚

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      It is hard to draw the line, especially when we get used to it being a part of our daily routine. I endeavor to limit my son’s time on his computer and during his ‘off’ time, we enjoy reading books and playing games together. As you said, it’s all a matter of balance. It’s good that you and your husband are able to have conversations. Sadly, many couples don’t.

      Like

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    Although I grew up with TV, while still a kid, the thing was on for about 2 hours in the evening AFTER dinner. I really wasn’t all that interested in TV, preferring books. Even now, although I love my PC, I don’t have a webcam, iPhone, or anything else that connects to it. For me the PC is just another way to read and write, which is what I love to do. Maybe it’s a case of I haven’t really hit the years beyond 2000. πŸ˜›

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I certainly don’t think that you not hitting beyond 2000 is a problem. That’s a great thing! Like you, we also grew up with a TV, but it didn’t get in the way of family time. There was a time for TV and the Atari (which we had then), but neither of them interested us much. We spent most of our time outdoors. I agree with you about the PC. It’s great for writing and research, and that’s about it.

      Like

  10. stacilys says:

    Wow! I love this post. Yes, imagine. What a whole different life that would be. No more rush rush. No more distractions. Probably no more ADHD too. A lot less depression and bi-polar. Man. And we think we live in a more civilized world today. Oh my goodness, there is so much I could say on this, but then again, I’d end up writing a book.
    Thanks for this post. It’s great.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Yes, yes and yes! I agree with you on everything. This was certainly a summarized post of my thoughts on this matter. I’m afraid I would offend a few people if I stated just how much I believe technology has ruined many areas of our life, mental well being and our families. Thank you so much!

      Like

      • stacilys says:

        I wrote a poem yesterday in response to photo prompt by another blogger, ‘Kirsten Uninterruped’. The picture is of a girl trapped in a ball in a dark, grey corner. It made me think about the impact media has on us.
        It sounds to me that you could probably end up writing a book on this as well.
        πŸ™‚

        Like

  11. We all need family time we take the kids on a picnic and leave the gadgets behind.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That’s great to hear! Family time is so important. We do the same thing. During family time, whether at home or away, gadgets are a no-go. Cell phones are only used in case of emergency and occasionally to gain information regarding a conversation topic.

      Like

  12. I often wonder how it would be with a type writer, a glass of wine, and a book to write. Simply the life we have by going a week without all of the above. You are bound for a productive week πŸ™‚ most don’t know how to send letters these days without email. It’s kind of sad!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      A type writer would be wonderful, however I must admit I do like all the ‘fancy’ PC options. πŸ™‚ It has actually been a productive week. I’m trying to schedule my WP time better. Otherwise reading and writing could easily take up a good part of my day. Seeing as how I already write for work, I suppose it already does anyway. A handwritten letter is one of the most special items to receive. I still remember running out to the mailbox every day hoping to get a letter.

      Like

  13. April says:

    It would be nice. Last week, we met the parents, and grandparents of Sensible Girlfriend’s – The Wee One’s. During dinner I was shocked to see my husband pull out his cell phone! Urgh! Unfortunately, he isn’t a doctor or anything like that, but the corporation he works for seems to have urgent matters during storms, or sales such as Memorial Day. I hate those little contraptions. I love family time, and we used to get it while camping.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Leashes! I can’t stand them either. I have a friend who goes completely device free one day a week, which I think would be a great idea. At least your husband had a somewhat valid excuse for using his during dinner. At least he wasn’t just surfing the net. You met her family, eh? It sounds like there may be a wedding coming up soon. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • April says:

        I could understand my husband’s attachment to his phone if he were a heart doctor on call, or some such thing, but that stinkin’ corporation has him attached via that contraption ALL the time. No vacations, no weekend, no anytime without them buzzing him.

        Yes, we did meet her family, but I hope there isn’t an engagement coming soon. My son is still in college, and he needs a job first. She’s a hard worker, and we love her, but I’m hoping there isn’t something behind all this. They have been dating for two years, and I’m hoping they were just thinking it was time?

        Like

Please share your thoughts

