Friday Fictioneer – Running Away

Copyright – Erin Leary

Photo Credit – Erin Leary

“I get in trouble for everything. I’ll just run away!” six year old Toby thought as he stomped up the stairs.

He placed some clothing into his backpack, along with his baseball card collection. “I’ll leave in the morning before everyone wakes up.”

Morning came. Toby crept down the stairs and out the door. He stepped over a broken tree branch and through a field of thick grass. When he reached the fence, he felt a rumbling in his stomach.

“I’m hungry. Mommy will be cooking breakfast soon.” He turned back toward his house.

“Maybe I’ll run away tomorrow instead.”


This was written for Friday Fictioneers hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. A story written using 100 words or less.

 

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Friday Fictioneer – Running Away

  1. erinleary says:

    This made me chuckle. I did exactly that at about the same age. I got halfway across the field behind our house and realized I would miss lunch. And cookie. That drew me home. Fun story!

    Like

  2. elmowrites says:

    haha, love the little guy’s spunk and how well you capture both his character and his shortcomings. I don’t think you need “angrily” as well as “stomped”.

    Like

  3. wmqcolby says:

    Hahaha! YES! So sweet. Thanks for taking us through something positive and funny. You just upped the “aww” factor into the clouds.

    Like

  4. Good thinking Toby, at least on that second decision. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. Very cute! I thought for sure he was going to hear a crack! which would make him run back home! LOL!

    Like

  6. suzjones says:

    My first born ran away from home once. I helped her pack and then walked her to the corner. After watching which direction she was headed in, I ran inside and called a friend up the road who just happened to have some gardening to do πŸ˜‰
    All’s well that ends well sometimes.
    If you want a giggle, here’s a british comedy clip that might make you laugh

    Like

  7. R. E. Hunter says:

    I don’t think I ever actually tried the running away thing. I just fantasized about it. Not sure my parents would have even noticed. Mom always said she never worried about us, because she knew we’d come home when we got hungry enough 8^). Anyway, you captured a six year old well.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Your mother sounds like a smart woman. As children, all it takes is a hungry stomach to make us appreciate our moms. I fantasized about it too, but always knew that I’d be too scared at night by myself. That was enough to talk myself out of it.

      Like

  8. elappleby says:

    I have a very similar memory of my little brother: he didnt wait until morning though, he pulled the door open anouncing he was leaving, saw how dark it was and said “when it’s light, anyway!”
    Lovely writing and a fun trip down memory lane for me. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That is so funny! I imagine that he still gets teased about that to this day. He sounds like he was a smart kid though, or afraid. Either way, he made a good choice. Thank you very much. πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Tomorrow’s good.

    Like

  10. Lovely one.. Yes my sister did the same, escaping with her teddybear – didn’t get too far before she headed back though.

    Like

  11. JustDeb says:

    Great story! Happy! I have brothers and this all sounds familiar.

    Like

  12. colehturner says:

    Not even planning his new life past leaving his mom’s home. This shows the mindset of a six-year old well. Great story and keep writing.

    Like

  13. Sandra says:

    This brought back some memories… πŸ™‚ I didn’t get far either. Lovely.

    Like

  14. Dear Me,

    What child hasn’t thought about running away? Very sweet story.

    And while I’m at it…welcome to Friday Fictioneers. It’s only fair to warn you that it’s a highly addictive activity, one that roped me in two years ago and has held me captive ever since. I look forward to reading more from you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Thank you! I’m looking forward to becoming addicted. That’s a statement people probably don’t hear often. I love the idea of writing more fiction, as I’ve found it to be very enjoyable.

      Like

  15. stacilys says:

    Hilarious. Hunger is a very powerful thing.
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. I ran away like this DOZENS of times as a child. Thanks for the fun reminder.

    Like

  17. Cute story and funny. Our son talked about running away and our daughter said that she thought he was “dumb.” She was sensible, knew she had a good deal, and stayed put. Well done. πŸ™‚ —Susan

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Thank you, Patricia. the different between your kids is comical. Your daughter had it right. A kid can’t beat free food, housing and a nice bed to sleep in.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

