Tornadoes and Awkward Timing

shower

All the wild weather we’ve been having around here lately, has got me thinking about where I wouldn’t want to be if a tornado were to hit my home or anywhere near it.

I came from tornado country and in no way am I making light of the tragedies caused by tornadoes. However, I must admit that there are some positions I wouldn’t want to be caught in.

Showering: This one is partially good, since you’re already in the bathtub. That is one of the safest places to be. What do you do though? I suppose you could crouch down and curl up in a naked ball inside the tub, and hope that there’s still a wall to hide behind after the tornado passes.

If you didn’t think your tub was safe enough, you could run out of the house flailing your arms around, and head over to a neighbor’s storm cellar. It would be awkward running over there in your birthday suit, but at least you’d be safe. Hopefully someone there would have an extra shirt you could wear.

Toilet: You’re in the middle of doing your business and a tornado comes. Do you hop off and hope for the best? Do you wipe first? Or, do you stay there and finish, while holding on for dear life to everything within arms reach? That gives a whole new meaning to “being caught with your pants down.”

Sleeping Attire: Typical pajamas would be okay, but what if it’s lingerie? Do you grab a robe or just flaunt it?

Working Out: Lately my daily workouts have been falling right in line with the afternoon storms. If a tornado hits my house and it gets destroyed, I don’t want to be stuck in my own sweat for hours. That’s disgusting. Plus, my workout attire is not really suitable for walking around town.

To eliminate that, as soon as I hear thunder, the workout is over. Off to the shower I go, which takes me back to the first awkward position I mentioned.

I doubt that if a tornado were to actually hit my home, I would care if I was naked, on the toilet or sweaty in a barely-there outfit. Even so, I can’t help but think about it.

In honor of tornado season, those are just a few of my random thoughts. Where would you not want to be in case of a tornado?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tornadoes and Awkward Timing

  1. You are really hitting the nail here and even tornadoes are not funny, you made me largh πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. In my car. It happened once when the alarm went off and I was completely terrified. It s not like there isn’t enough warning but for whatever reason, the timing usually coincides with the kids getting out of school. I am SO grateful it has been quiet here so far this season

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Yes, in the car would be scary. All you can do is hope there’s somewhere safe you get to on time. Having children definitely adds a more fear to the mix. All of our tornado warnings have been going off right when the kids are due to get out too. How strange. I’m glad it’s been calm this season for you and hope it stays that way.

      Like

  3. suzjones says:

    I have found that most storms hit around the time kids get out of school. Although we don’t have tornadoes here where I live, we still get some scary electrical storms and they like to hit right when kids get out of school. I think it is one of the unwritten laws of the universe to be honest.

    Like

  4. I think sitting on the toilet would be a bad place! We get tornadoes here in Texas. In fact there was torrential rain, hail and cross line winds in Dallas a couple of weeks ago and guess who was driving in it? Yep! My friend was in the car with me because we were on our way to a conference. I said, “Do you hear that?” she said “What?” I rolled down my window just a tiny bit…”THAT!” It was the tornado sirens going off! THAT was fun…..not! But we made it to where we were going safe and sound thank goodness! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I would not want to be where the tornado is!!!!

    Like

  6. pardenme says:

    I would not want to be There. Just sayin”

    Like

  7. Sammy D. says:

    Did you get the hail? We were pretty lucky where I am, but WOW those pictures in eastern Colorado were frightening!

    Like

  8. Cindi says:

    I agree that it isn’t appropriate to make light of tragedies, but after living in northern Illinois with its many tornado warnings (back in the 60’s and 70’s; I remember the fire station alarm going off in our small town as the warning), visiting family in Iowa these past few years during tornado watches and warnings, and experiencing the 2001 tornado in Maryland that seemed to march in a direct line that threatened my daughters and me in the areas we were at the time … I’ve often thought every one of your points. Without humor, where would we be?!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      They sure can be frightening. They call it tornado alley for a reason, I suppose. It gets hit with them a lot. I had never heard of the one in Maryland. How terrifying that would be, especially with your daughters involved. I agree about humor. We need it, even in the bad situations.

      Like

  9. Glynis Jolly says:

    Supposedly I live in what is called Tornado Alley in the Cumberland Mountains of Tennessee. I’ve lived in these mountains off and on for about 10 years, yet I haven’t been even halfway close to a tornado yet. I was close to one in Colorado though, but that was over 25 years ago. I’ve also watched them from afar in Colorado. For some unknown reason, I’m not frighted by them. I probably have a brain malfunction. πŸ˜›

    BTW, I would finish my business and wipe. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Even the sound of ” Cumberland Mountains of Tennessee” sounds dreamy to me. I’ve heard that tornadoes have to have a nice large flat area in order to touch down, but those claims have been debated, so who knows. I’m glad you haven’t had any there and that you were able to escape the Colorado ones. Oddly enough, I’m not afraid of them either. They fascinate me and I suppose that’s why it’s easy to think of the humorous side.

      Just hold on tight, right? At least you’d be comfortable and clean. πŸ™‚

      Like

  10. Chad says:

    hmm, I guess it depends. If there is a rail on the side of the toilet I guess I’d try to finish and hold on tight lol

    Like

Please share your thoughts

