Kindness Of A Stranger

help strangerPeople come into our lives sometimes for long periods, and other times for only a moment. Those we remember most fondly, are usually the ones who were kindest to us. That does not necessarily include family or friends. It could be a stranger.

Sometimes the words and actions of a stranger hold more value than those of a loved one. Unlike a family member or friend, a stranger is not obligated to express kindness toward us. Most of the time their intentions are pure, without expecting anything in return. They’re not concerned with earning ‘brownie points’. They simply say or do, whatever is in their heart at that moment.

Quite often, it’s the simple gestures that make the most impact. For instance, taking a moment to hold the door open for someone, or stopping to help them pick up an item that they’ve dropped on the ground. Helping someone load their groceries into the car or helping a child to stand after they’ve fallen.

Aside from actions, the words we speak can also make a difference. One kind word may be all it takes to brighten someone’s day. A compliment made, a sincere hello, or a kind observation, can change a bad day into a wonderful one. Delaying an errand to chat with someone who is lonely or hurting, could change their entire perspective on life.

Most of us could look back over the years and share a time when a stranger touched our life. Our own personal experiences is proof that kindness is not easily forgotten. Therefore, when we show kindness toward another we may never know the full impact, but we can know with almost certainty that at the very least, it will be appreciated.

Kindness should be shown to everyone, regardless of color, social status or age. It should be shown to those who are in need, just as much as it should to those who are not. We shouldn’t be afraid or too busy to show kindness to another. What may be seen as a simple action or one insignificant word to us, may be a life changer for them.

With kindness toward others, we can offset the negativity that this world is plagued by. The opportunities are everywhere. It is our job to not miss them as they arise. One moment passed, is a moment lost. Let’s not waste it.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Kindness Of A Stranger

  1. Kylie says:

    I love this! We can absolutely make a difference by showing kindness to people we will probably never see again. Maybe we will not know what that difference was, but by being loving, we can be sure it was a positive one. Great post! 🙂

    Like

  2. I show kindness, but I will admit I’m not always one for pleasantries. That’s what I’m working on, is taking the time! 🙂 Great post, such a great reminder!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I think that’s the key right there – taking the time. We are so busy and hurried throughout our day. That makes it easy to rush by someone without considering what a kind word would do. What we forget, is that the reward of helping someone is so much greater than the 2 minutes that we’re worried about sacrificing.

      Like

  3. suzjones says:

    Agreed!!!! And agreed.
    Kindness changes no only the lives of others but of our ourselves.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Thanks Sue! You are right. There is nothing more rewarding than giving to others.

      Like

      • suzjones says:

        The universe was in tune with your post yesterday (for me anyway). I picked some roses and lavender from my garden with the intention of putting them on my desk at work. On the drive to work I had the though to give them to one of my managers (who needs cheering up). So I did. She was touched. When I got back to my desk, I pulled out my ‘thought for the day’ and it was quote by Buddha about being kind to everyone regardless of who they are.
        So thank you 🙂

        Like

  4. April says:

    The reason why my husband and I are so compatible, is that in the event of any sort of need by any person, we don’t even think, we step right in. It’s part of who we are. I know there are others who have to be like this. I will have to admit that if I can make it out of my house while I am suffering from a severe depressive episode, I’m stuck inside my head. I’m not even sure I can help myself.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That is wonderful. The world needs more people like you two. Sacrificing a few minutes for someone in need should not even require a second thought.

      It is hard to help others when we’re so involved in our own problems. What I’ve learned though, is that by helping others we often forget our own problems. That makes it beneficial for them and us.

      Like

  5. tric says:

    I think in many ways it can be easier to give a once off kindness to a stranger than to a member of our family.
    Yet it is indeed something we remember for a long time, the kindness of strangers. Great post with plenty food for thought.

    Like

  6. stormy1812 says:

    Totally agree! 🙂 A great reminder for us all.

    Like

  7. Amen MeWhoAmI. My husband and I share your thoughts. Last week we received a terrible blow/news. And since then we have been on the receiving end of these kind acts and words. It truly makes a difference. Like you said, even a kind word, when needed or unexpected makes a huge difference for us. Thank you.

    Like

  8. Kindness is one of the most positive emotions having implication for both giver and recipient and possibly even further afield. 🙂

    Like

  9. Cindi says:

    Wonderful thoughts and a great post!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

