Times Are Changing

phone“I need a charge. The phone is dead!” the 4 year old cried out. “Well, you’re going to have to wait for about 30 minutes until your Mom comes back.” I told him.

“I can’t wait. I need it now!”

“Why don’t you go play with the real life people over there?”

“I don’t want to! I need a charge now!” he pleaded.

This little boy believed his world was coming to an end because he couldn’t play on his mom’s phone. I’ve watched this little boy. Every time I see him, he’s either playing games on an iPad or on a cell phone. It’s not his fault he behaves this way. Parents have the ability and the right to say, “No.” They also have the right to make rules for their children. They are parents, after all.

When I was a kid, we played outside. We made mud pies and did cartwheels in the front yard. We played with sticks and ant hills. My siblings and I ran races with each other. We played ball with neighborhood kids. We toured the streets on our bicycles.

mudThat was the good life. It taught us how to be social. How to build friendships. We learned creativity and problem solving skills. Most of all, we learned that there’s a whole world out there beyond our little bubble.

Watching kids now days, makes me afraid for the future of this world. Although quality games can teach a variety of skills to children, they can’t teach life skills. Those life skills are what they need in order to grow and to be successful in life.

They need to know how to deal with problems and how to treat others. They need to learn manners, respect and self discipline. They need to know how to properly communicate with their peers and their elders.

All of these are simple concepts, but they can’t be learned from an electronic device. There is a time and a place for everything. There is a time for playing games and a time for learning.

How can children be expected to transition from staring at a screen all day, to dealing with real life people when they grow up? There will come a day when they will face physical people, physical problems and have a physical job. In order to succeed in this world, they need less electronic device time and more face to face time.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Times Are Changing

  1. I think this is exactly right!!!!!

    Like

  2. DailyMusings says:

    exactly. agreed. 🙂

    Like

  3. suzjones says:

    I’m so pleased that my grandchildren (although they sometimes play with their mother’s phone) spend most of their time tearing around the house, playing dress ups, pulling things out of cupboards, building cubbies and generally just being noisy children. 🙂

    Like

  4. Jenni says:

    I know – I remember summer holidays as a kid – you’d leave the house after breakfast and all the kids would congregate and decide what to do – we’d go play tennis up the road at Rachel’s, be fed awesome biscuits by her mum, meander over to Nicks for swimming and usually hot dogs or burgers for lunch and then the afternoon with a variety of bike races and mischief. Then as the sun went down parents would appear in the front yards with the hose to ‘water the lawn’ and to give you a chance to get home before mum bellows “Jenni Bath Time” to the general amusement of all. Movies only if it was raining and half the time we found other things to do anyway. I never thought I would catch myself going … ‘when I was a girl ….etc’ to the general eye roll of younger people but here I am and I must admit I do feel sorry for those kids growing up now – they miss a lot.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Jenni,

      Your childhood sounds fantastic. That’s what childhood should be about. Outdoors, friends and plenty of mischief and mishaps to make many fun memories. Your comment almost makes we want to be a child again. Kids these days do miss a lot…it’s sad. I feel bad for them. They have no idea what great opportunities they’re missing.

      Like

  5. Grannymar says:

    Wonderful post. Children need to learn to share, play and interact with others and have respect for all around them.

    Like

  6. I’ll admit I spend too much time on technology, but thanks to college and my rigourous classes its becoming more “when time permits” instead of the “Must play games NOW”. The future scares me as more and more are devitig whole days to technology, its truely sad.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Life certainly has a way of reducing our play time. Games are a nice stress reliever and there’s nothing wrong with that, as long as it’s done at the right time. I agree, people are devoting their whole days to the tech world. Whatever happened to socializing face to face?

      Like

      • Exzactly! Sorry my spelling is a bit off, I’m trying to do two things at once. I use games to help relieve my stress from school, and my struggles with my speech impediment. I’ve been trying to do more face to face communication, and so far its workimg for me.

        Like

  7. sothislife says:

    What are you going to do the 4 yo?

    Like

  8. April says:

    My daughter and I use Facetime to talk. I love it because she is soooo far away, and it feels like we’re in the same room – kind of. Recently, we had a talk about how much has changed in the last 30 years, and were wondering what it will be like for our kids when they are in their 50’s. My daughter said that her generation is the last to know what it’s like to not have internet access.

    I don’t have grandkids, but my sister does. Her 5-year-old grandson has some electronic toys, but his favorite thing to do is help grandpa. They live on 4 acres and have chickens and a big area to take care of. His favorite toys are his little cars and trains that he makes little roads for.

    I’m hoping that there are more new parents who raise their children to not be so dependent on electronic devices, than there are new parents who do raise their children that way. At one time, long hair on boys was thought to create an era of bad people–who knows.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Facetime would be such a fun way to communicate. I may have to try it with my mother one day. Your comment about your daughter’s generation being the last to know of life before internet, really hit me. Wow, that touches on many things – cassettes, corded house phones…

      Your sister’s grandson’s activities remind of my own back when I was little. The farm life is the best life! It so good for kids to get a taste of the ‘simple’ life, where they can explore the world and their own mind. It creates creativity in them.

      I hope the same, but the only way I can see that happening is when people realize the true negative effects of children being glued to devices. Until then, people use them as alternative parenting devices. I’d love to say, to each his own, but that’s exactly how the world has gotten to the point it’s at, to begin with.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

