That One Piece of Advice

Advice

Throughout our lives, we have all been given a great deal of advice. What to eat, what to wear, how to act, what to do, where to go and how to respond to situations. The list could go on and on.

As children, our parents gave us advice and most of us probably didn’t do a very good job at listening. At least I didn’t, not always. Like most kids, I thought that I knew more than my parents did and they certainly could not understand what I was going through. Boy, was I wrong and should have listened to them. Undoubtedly, it would have saved me from some unnecessary hardships.

Instead of listening, we learned the hard way.

Advice doesn’t only come from our parents. It can come from anyone such as teachers, bosses, colleagues, peers, and even billboards if we’re paying attention. Some advice we take and others we ignore completely. But, there is always that one piece of advice that we should have listened to, but didn’t.

For me, it would have been “Just be yourself”. That is one area of my life that I have always struggled with. For most of my life, I’ve worked so hard to make others happy by being what they need me to be, saying what they need to hear and doing what they want me to do. As a result, I’m not entirely sure if I know who “I” am.

“Just be yourself.” That’s great advice. Advice that I should have put into practice, starting at a much younger age.

Is there one piece of advice in your life, that sticks out the most?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to That One Piece of Advice

  1. I like this advice. 🙂

    Like

  2. suzjones says:

    That’s great advice.
    I have a couple but the one that I wish that I could implement more often in my life is “If someone doesn’t like you that is not your problem”.
    I try so hard to please everyone and it upsets me if someone doesn’t like me. I blame myself and wonder what it is about me that needs to change. Sometimes it isn’t me at all. I need to realise that. 🙂

    Like

  3. April says:

    That’s some great advice.I received some advice from many sources. Enough sources that I should have paid attention. I had a teacher – the last “advice giver”. He told me how painful it was to watch his father die from emphysema and asked me not to smoke any more. I was a senior in high school. I didn’t listen, and continued to smoke until my late 20s. I finally stopped at the age of 29—but now, in my 50s, I’m fighting to stay a cancer survivor. The other stuff like being myself, has been advice I have received—remember, it’s never too late to embrace a new way of thinking, or believing in ourselves. Every moment counts.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      It’s advice like that, that we kick ourselves later for ignoring. But, you are surviving and that is what matters most. Like you said, every moment counts. That goes for new thinking and surviving.

      Like

  4. The Invisible Sage says:

    Yes, indeed. Be yourself. Love yourself. Respect yourself. Be patient with yourself. Forgive yourself. Be humble. Be grateful. The more you ‘know’ about yourself, then the more you shall feel confident about knowing how to give to, and respond to others. And that includes listening to their advice!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That is very true. First and foremost, we have to know ourselves. Then, we will be able to recognize the need for advice when it’s given and most of all, listen to it.

      Like

  5. My mother had advice or a saying for every situation. The one that comes to mind most often might seem trivial, but it has also helped me in business and social situations. “It’s better to be overdressed than underdressed”. In other words, look like you made an effort and being there was important to you.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That’s good advice. Making a good first impression is important. People do remember. More importantly, if we look good, we feel good. Feeling good about yourself changes the way you carry yourself, speak and interact with others.

      Like

  6. culturemonk says:

    here is advice I wish I would have been given when I was younger; save as much money as possible……instead I was raised in a family that was more about spending it and living a lavish lifestyle

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Learning financial responsibility at a young age is so important. I know people who were never taught that. As a result, they often find themselves in financial trouble, with no idea of how to overcome it.

      Everyone will have ‘rainy days’ and it’s important to be prepared. Savings is where peace is found.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

