Are You Happy?

happy

While pondering a recent conversation regarding happiness, I began to wonder if anyone is truly happy. Or, do they just pretend to be? I’m honestly not sure.

What is happiness?

Happiness: A) a state of well-being and contentment, B) a pleasurable or satisfying experience

If happiness is a state of well-being and contentment (pleased and satisfied: not needing more), then it would appear that no one is happy. Seemingly everyone wants a new house, better job, more money, a calmer life, better behaved children or a nicer spouse.

If happiness is a pleasurable or satisfying experience, then happiness would only last for a moment before it’s gone. So then, is anyone truly happy or do they simply pretend to be? After all, it is easier and more acceptable to tell others that you’re happy, than to admit that you are not.

Happiness. What is happiness to you? Are you happy?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Are You Happy?

  1. DailyMusings says:

    I’m happy. I try to see the cup half full instead of empty and focus on the things in my life that are good- which leads to an overall “happiness” Sure there are things that creep into my consciousness that make me sad, friends & family with illnesses and going through hardship,but it doesn’t take away my overall “happiness.” I think a big part of being happy is being happy with what you have, rather than focusing on what you don’t have. I don’t spend my time comparing my life to what others have. I also think it is how we are “wired” too- so people are just more upbeat than others by nature.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I agree with you. We should always focus on what we have, rather than what we do not. That makes a huge difference. I too agree that some people are seemingly wired to be more upbeat than others. That is what makes us all unique.

      Like

  2. DailyMusings says:

    that’s “some” people are more upbeat than others

    Like

  3. I’m happy. I can’t even fully explain why. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have unhappy moments. But I am happy to love, to be loved, to have a job, to be able to help, to be able to dream about doing things, to be able to try new things.

    Like

  4. I think happiness is fleeting, but joy is permanent…I’m working on a blog post about this exact thing now! Definitely a deep question without an exact answer…it make take thousands of blog posts before anyone has a good grasp of it all. Great post!

    Like

  5. Little Drakon says:

    Oh, I’m happy. The big words there in your post is “not needing more”. Do I want more? Sure. But do I need more? No. I have roof over my family and mine’s heads, clothes and food in our bellies. I have my son and my husband, whom I love both of more than anything. I have two kitties that like to snuggle close. I’m content with what I have, but I strive for more… And that makes me happy, too, that I have the abilty and the freedom to do so.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Your happiness shines through your words.Good for you for being able to hold onto your happiness and for appreciating the most important parts of life.There is always something to want, but our needs being met is what bring us fulfillment.

      Like

  6. April says:

    Oh, I wish I knew the answer to this one, then maybe I would quit beating myself up for not being happy enough. To me, I don’t even know what happiness is. A great question to ponder.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Happiness is a tricky thing. It is difficult to assess someone’s true happiness versus the facade they put up for the world to see.

      However, by reading earlier comments, I suppose that some are truly happy. It’s all about being at peace with what you have, rather than what you do not.

      Like

  7. suzjones says:

    That’s a deep question.
    Happiness is contentment within yourself. It doesn’t mean that you may not wish to strive for other things but if you are content within yourself that what you are striving for it right then all is good. I don’t mean to constantly want things and then keep moving on to the next conquest (or purchase). I mean that if you want a new house, that doesn’t necessarily mean that you are unhappy.
    That probably made as much sense as a mud puddle but I hope you know what I mean. 😀

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That made sense. You’re right. It’s about content within yourself. People can be happy with having very little, as long as they are happy with themselves and the path they’re on.

      Like

      • suzjones says:

        Yay!! Thank goodness you understood my convoluted reasoning 😉
        Some people are happy with nothing and some need a little more but if they are content within themselves then all is right in the world. 🙂

        Like

Please share your thoughts

