My Son’s a Player

dating

My son’s a player. He just doesn’t know it. That boy likes almost every girl that crosses his path. I suppose that’s normal for a 14 year old. He prefers brunettes, with brown eyes and dark skin. All of which is the complete opposite of me. So, next time I hear the statement about how boys date girls who resemble their moms, I’ll know not to believe it.

He has one girlfriend who lives all the way in Connecticut and two more locally, at his school. He’d probably have a few others if given the chance. I was talking to his teacher yesterday and she informed me of his most recent addition. Apparently, the two of them spend their classes together, picking on one another. He pokes at her and she pokes him back. Then she pushes him, he laughs and continues to poke at her.

His teacher’s explanation of their behavior toward each other reminded me of my elementary school days. Those were the days when liking someone was shown by knocking them down, throwing spit wads, pinching or tripping them in the hallway. How were those actions ever interpreted to mean, “I like you”? Who knows, but they worked.

I remember little boys picking on me, then asking if I’d be their girlfriend and I’d say yes. If that were to happen today, at my age now, that guy would be looked at as if he was nuts. There would be no way I’d say yes to anything he offered.

Kids are just strange. I’m just thankful that right now my son’s actions are at an elementary level rather than a high school level. Even though I want him to mature to his physical age in most areas, I can’t deny that I’m pretty content by having him delayed in this one.

I am not ready for dealing with high school type relationships. At least not right now. Maybe when he’s 30.

This entry was posted in Autism - Within the Walls and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Son’s a Player

  1. M E McMahon says:

    Ahhh…young love! At 14, he probably is just out of the “I hate girls” phase and moving into “hey, they’re not so bad” phase. I too remember my much younger days, when I spent hours writing my heart’s desire on my bookcovers and dreaming of day he would finally ask me out. I’m still waiting! 🙂

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Oh yes. He’s definitely into the “she’s pretty” phase. I remember those book covers. Hearts with boys names all over and don’t forget the “he loves me, he loves me not”, picking the petals off flowers.

      Like

  2. Matt says:

    Oooooh. Manosphere games.

    Beware! 😉

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      And it’s only the beginning. All I know, is that he better grow up to be a gentleman and treat women right. That’s how I’m raising him. He’s a good kid though, so I think he’ll be alright. 🙂

      Like

      • Matt says:

        I was certainly kidding.

        I believe strongly in young people dating as many people as possible.

        As long as honesty is at the core, little harm can come from that.

        I didn’t know you had a son old enough to be dating.

        I’m so glad I have some years left of little-kid stuff. 🙂

        Like

        • mewhoami says:

          I know you were. 🙂 I don’t mind dating, as long it’s done responsibly.

          Tell me about it! I don’t feel like I should have a kid that old. But, you and I (I think) are about the same age. I just started a little early. Enjoy the little-kid stuff while you can. It ends quickly.

          Like

  3. suzjones says:

    That’s so sweet.
    And for the record, my son married a girl who is just like his mother! 😉

    Like

  4. I’m with you, I prefer the middle age crushes and behaviors. SO much more simple and easy to deal with. Wait until that first “real” love…..

    Like

Please share your thoughts

