Soul Mates On Different Floors

old couple benchSoul mates. Do they exist? I believe so. Imagine finding yours and then being separated from them. I know a couple who have been married for 51 years. They met as teenagers and have been inseparable ever since.

Last year, they celebrated their 50th anniversary by renewing their vows. It was the most beautiful ceremony I have ever attended. Not because of the decorations or flower arrangements, but because of the undeniable love shared between them. Watching as they repeated their vows to each other was an incredible and heartwarming sight to behold.

Being married since such an early age, they have gone through everything together. He went to war and she supported him every step of the way. They had children and lost their oldest daughter to a tragedy that no one saw coming. Years later, he was infected by a terrible sickness that was certain to take his life, but he survived. Through all the ups and downs, their love has never weakened. In fact, it’s only grown stronger.

As they’re getting older, naturally health problems are becoming more of an issue.  For the past few weeks he’s been struggling with an illness that doesn’t want to go away. Any illness pertaining to the lungs, especially at 70 years old, can be frightening. For this reason, his wife has been deeply concerned about him. She has refused to even leave his side. That is, until she was forced to.

Two days ago, she was hit with an infection that has now made it’s way into her bloodstream. She’s currently sitting in ICU. She is very dear to me, so my son and I went to visit her in the hospital last night. I haven’t been anywhere near an ICU since the passing of my step-dad in March. It was like re-opening a wound. But, it wasn’t about me. It was about her. We stepped into the room and her husband was standing at the end of her bed.

With tears in his eyes, he was doing his best to stay positive and upbeat. As I mentioned, he’s been sick too, but he said “I have to be strong. Stronger than ever. She needs me.” Their love is indescribable. It breaks my heart for them, knowing that one day they will be separated. There is a song I used to listen to frequently when I was younger, that reminds me of them. I posted the video here…

This song had a very deep meaning to me when I was growing up. As a teenager, I fell in love with someone and then ran away from him. Much of the reason was because I was afraid to experience what this couple is experiencing now. I was terrified to spend my entire life (as great as it may have been) with someone who I loved so dearly, only to have it come to an end. To have him taken from me. That sounds so silly now, but it’s true.

I’m glad this couple wasn’t like me. They’ve had the opportunity to enjoy 51 beautiful years together full of memories, laughter and love. For most people, that is only a dream. For them, it’s been a dream come true.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Soul Mates On Different Floors

  1. April says:

    Of course, that had the tears rolling down my face. I’m a sentimental sap. Anyway, the song about being in the same hospital on different floors—that was my Grandma and Step-Grandfather. I think my grandpa visited my grandma an one point, but she was mentally not there. They were married over 50 years, I don’t remember the exact number, but I remember watching them renew their vows again at their 50th anniversary.

    The odd thing, my mom got married to my dad not long after her mother remarried. The same lady above. They were actually pregnant at the same time. When we lost my dad, they had been married 53 years. To watch my mom take such loving care of my dad while he was in a care facility was so heartwarming. I often wondered how she has been able to go on, but she does. She will be 78 soon, and a person would never guess it–we have some good genes.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and the ones you love. May she heal and enjoy more time with her soul mate.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Love stories are the best. The stories about your grandparents and parents are both very touching. I can’t imagine being in the hospital with the love of my life, yet unable to see them. But, what a life they had for 50 years. That’s a huge milestone.

      Same goes for your parents. I always here those stories about when, after being married for so long, one spouse passes away, the other is soon behind. Your mom is a strong woman indeed, to be able to carry on. What a beautiful story – both of them. Thank you for sharing that. Also, thank you so much for your thoughts and prayers.

      Like

  2. ckaztiyo17 says:

    This is a great post. The thought of finding a soul mate may be just for some people something that you see in movies, but I disagree. I believe in people who love their partner entirely and it just brings you the most touching of feelings. I almost always tear up when at church I see this older couple still holding hands wherever they go. Call me old-fashioned, but I still believe in love stories that can endure the test of time. Beautiful writing, keep it up! 🙂

    http://www.kastiyos.com

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Thank you for the comment! I couldn’t agree more. Love stories are not just for Hollywood. They can happen in real life too. We may not all be given that opportunity, but some are. Sometimes it’s just a matter of being patient and waiting for that person to come along. I think too often, people jump into the wrong relationship hoping for the best, while in the meantime their soul mate passes them by.

      Like

  3. Grannymar says:

    My soul-mate found me thirty seven years ago at Halloween. Alas we were only given twenty years together, the curse of cancer took him away from me. Our life together was wonderful and I never fail to think of him every day since then. Don’t get me wrong, I do not spend my time wailing and weeping, that would be an insult to his memory. I get up, dress up and show up, where ever I am needed with a smile on my face.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      That is wonderful that you found your soul mate. There’s a country song that says something along the lines of “I could have missed the pain, but then I would have had to miss the dance.” Twenty years you were able to dance with your love. That is beautiful. Good for you also, for being able to live for him even after he’s been gone. Thank you for sharing that.

      Like

  4. suzjones says:

    Thinking of you at this time.
    I found my soul mate 17 years ago next month. It took me a failed (abusive) marriage and other life struggles before he wandered onto the volleyball court next to me to fill in for a missing team mate and my heart was gone. The Garden Gnome is the best thing to ever happen to me.
    April, your story is beautiful also.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Thank you. Although you had to go through some struggles to get there, it is so wonderful that you found him. Sometimes it takes patience and time for that person to come along. Sometimes it takes a volleyball game. 🙂 That is a neat way to meet. Congrats to you and the Garden Gnome on your 17 years together.

      Like

  5. frankiedman says:

    Thanks for sharing!! Reading stories like this really makes me sad. As I grow older I think to myself “I really wish I would have done several things differently to have been able to one day celebrate a 50 year anniversary”. I know my other half is out there somewhere. When I find her I will NOT let her gooooooo~!~!~ I like my single life but my hopeless romantic side gets the best of me. I will for sure fill you in MEWHOAMI when I find her.

    PS – What a touching song!!

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Hi frankiedman! There are definitely pros and cons to both being single and being in a relationship. But, at the end of the day we all want someone, that someone special who completes us. It’s not too late for you to reach the 50th anniversary. But if you don’t, that’s perfectly okay because even 20 years with “the one” is so worth the wait and still more than what most people get. She’ll come along and yes please, fill me in when it happens.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

