Why I Write

writeI may never write a novel or publish an article in a magazine. I may never have a 1000 readers or people lining up to get my autograph. So, why do I write?

Some people may wonder why it is that a person would lay out their life for the whole world to see. That seems terribly unwise and in a way it is. Anyone at any given moment could log on and see what I’ve written. Some people on this site have learned that the hard way. For instance, one blogger has proven that when an ex-spouse finds your blog it can be a very painful experience.

I write because this is my outlet. Almost every day I am surrounded by people. I speak to several of them, but rarely do I talk. You speak words with your mouth, but you talk from your heart. There are less than a handful of people in this world that I trust enough to talk to. Even then, there are some things that I choose not to share. Each of those people knows something that the other does not, and not a single one knows everything.

Of course I don’t share everything on here either. If I do write a personal post it’s usually in ‘code’. Back to why I write…  Although I am around people constantly, I spend a great deal of time alone. Women will probably understand that statement more than men. This is my space to talk freely, at any time of day and about anything I want. That gives me a strange sense of comfort and a small hint of accomplishment. Moreover, it’s an excellent platform for mental release and has proven to be quite therapeutic.

Throughout my blogging journey, I have made many ‘friends’ from all walks of life and from all over the world. Many people have inspired me and many have helped me to see different perspectives. I have witnessed beauty, love and deep insights into people that they normally keep hidden.

There have been people I’ve ‘met’ who were suicidal, but overcame their struggles with the help of fellow bloggers. There are others who are seemingly happy 24 hours a day and make it their goal to motivate everyone who drops by. It’s a fascinating world out there and I’ll admit, it’s neat to be a part of it.

As for me, I come here to talk, to learn, to laugh and to reach out to those who may need it. My posts are random. Some are inspired by situations and others by people. Some are short stories and some are nothing more than simple observations. But whatever they may be, they’re my thoughts, born from the mind of Mewhoami.

Why do you write?

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why I Write

  1. April says:

    I sure wish I could be one of those 24 hour a day happy people. I often wonder how they do it. I write only for myself. A release for whatever crosses my mind. I have over shared, but I have never embellished the truth. What I write, is who I am. It has made me realize that I have a whole lot of things going on in my noggin’. Things I never paid much attention to, until I started blogging. I guess I am blogging to learn more about the way my brain works.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I don’t know if there is such a thing as over sharing when you’re writing for yourself. I say, it’s your blog so write as you wish. I agree that blogging does help a person to learn more about themselves. I know I have learned a great deal since I started writing here. It’s been both enjoyable and enlightening.

      Like

  2. suzjones says:

    I enjoy my blogging. I want to be one of those 24 hour happy people but I’m not. However, I want to share hope, love and beauty with others when I find it.

    Like

  3. I began writing to help me think and gain a clearer view of things. Then I started sharing with people to validate my thoughts. Then I wanted to share with people because I thought it might help. So now it is all three.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

