Serious is Boring

crazy womanThere is a time to be serious and a time to have fun. On this blog I usually come across as very serious. That can be boring and I’ll be the first to admit that. In writing, I am a serious person. In person, I’m a little on the nutty side.

I make no sense after midnight. I laugh hysterically at things that aren’t funny. Such as, “Why don’t seagulls fly over the bay? Because then they’d be called baygulls.” Bagels, get it?

Rarely can I recall the lyrics to a song, but I will happily sing it with my own. Such as Michael Bolton’s, “We can’t be lovers if we can’t be healthy friends”. I love to be silly. I smile, goof off, talk to myself (and answer, sometimes argue), make jokes and generally have a good time.

That all changes when I leave my home or begin typing on here. I suddenly lose the fun me and the serious side emerges. You know it’s bad when you bore yourself. I’m not sure exactly why this happens. Most likely it’s because I don’t want to make a fool of myself. I’m afraid of being judged. Also, as a 33 year old woman I feel that I have an image to uphold. At least that’s what we’re taught, but shouldn’t we create our own unique image?

Anyway, if you read this blog and wonder why I am so serious all the time, just remember that behind these words is a crazy woman.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Serious is Boring

  1. snoogiefisk says:

    My image went to pot a long time ago. It was too hard to keep up. Just skip and be happy.

    Like

  2. Lilian Druve says:

    This Picture looks fun!

    Like

  3. April says:

    I have never thought of myself as funny, but apparently I have family and friends who find me hilarious. I think it is because I am who I am. I also have 20 years on you, and I have finally learned that I seriously only have to please myself. Yes, I still get hurt feelings, but I look for ways to avoid thing that bring me down. I also don’t have a professional image to maintain, and I don’t plan on running for any public office, so I let it roll. However, for me, depression sometimes takes my humor away. :/

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      “Let it roll.” I like that. That’s a good way to live. As you said, you can only please yourself. It’s impossible to please everyone. You have to live for you. Plus when we’re happy, others around us are generally happy too. I imagine you are comical at times. I’ve seen your funny side on some of your posts. For me, it’s difficult to write with humor. This is something I’ve been trying to learn to do. I get tired of being so serious all the time.

      Like

  4. suzjones says:

    I love to laugh but I tend to be serious on here. Don’t know why? Maybe it’s because there are a lot of people who just don’t get my sense of humour. I laugh at things that others don’t find funny. Okay… now I’ve said too much and people will begin to think I’m weird 😉

    Like

Please share your thoughts

