She Lived

skydivingAll the way up to her dying day, she lived. She lived life to it’s fullest. She lived for the moment.

What will people say about your life?

We attended a funeral on Saturday, of a very sweet lady, who was plagued by cancer. This disease brought her an early death, but it did not steal her life. She lived more than most people do. When she was younger, she played semi-pro softball. From there, she went on to skydive, repelled down mountain sides, and even tempted alligators in Florida just to get a closer look at them.

As her dying day approached, she was forced to be on oxygen. Not even that could hold her back from living. One month before she passed, she grabbed her oxygen tank, climbed on board a raft and soared along the rushing waters of a Colorado river. With one hand securely fastened to her oxygen tank, the other was stretched out holding an oar high up in the air. She was shouting and laughing; having a great time.

A couple of weeks ago, she had made the comment, “I’m afraid that no one will be there.” (speaking of her own funeral) What a sad, and very inaccurate thought that was. There were many people there and such an outpouring of love for her. People came from across the country to be there.

She was such an inspirational woman. She still is. Her strength and determination will certainly go on in the lives of those who knew her. Although we were heartbroken to see her go, her funeral was not a sad occasion. It was a celebration of her life.

It was also a lesson to all of us, who are still living. How do we live our life? Do we live for tomorrow or for the moment?

Had she lived for tomorrow, she never would have lived. Her life proved that she lived for the moment, and what an amazing life she had.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to She Lived

  1. momof3isnuts says:

    This reminded me of my sister, who we lost in March. She knew she was dying–she was in end stage heart/kidney failure due to complications from Type I Diabetes. I had many conversations with her while hanging with her during her dialysis treatments. She taught me how to live–now I just have to get over the grief and the nagging depression. I’m trying for her – well I’m trying for myself, but she is my inspiration. Thanks for sharing this story,

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      I’m so sorry for the loss of your sister. Many times it’s hard to understand why a person is taken from us so soon. My stepfather, of the past 23 years, passed away in March as well. He was young (58) and it was very sudden – 2 weeks from the day he got sick. In the post I wrote about him “Honoring a Good Man…”, I added this quote: “A life of short duration could be so rich in joy and love that it could contain more meaning than a life lasting eighty years.” I truly believe that. Your sister was able to show you how to live, because she lived. I don’t know her, but I would bet that she would want you to be happy, to see a smile on your face and most of all – to live. To copy a blogger friend of mine, who you know, I hope you find beauty in your day.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Frugality vs Fun | Me - Who am I?

  3. Pingback: Choices | Me – Who am I?

Please share your thoughts

