Where Are They Now?

hurting

When I first started this blog, I was taken back by all the people who wrote about their mental anguish. There were many nights that I would sit here with tears in my eyes as I read their pleas for help.

One girl in particular wrote about being lost and struggling to find an end to her pain. She wrote two posts, one of which I commented on. Then, she was gone. She hasn’t been back since. I don’t know what happened to her, but naturally I fear the worst. Even still, every few weeks I check to see if I’ve missed a post of hers, but each time there is nothing to be found. Sadly, she isn’t the only one who has disappeared after writing similar posts.

There is so much pain in this world. People are suffering all around us. They may smile, laugh and carry on as if they are happy, but underneath the mask they are miserable. Many of them come here seeking help. It may not always appear that way. Rather, it may look like they are merely complaining or trying to get attention. However, there are many people out there who are truly struggling. There are people who are using their blog as a last resort, before giving up entirely.

We may not always take the time to comment on their posts, but we should. One uplifting comment could potentially save a life. That goes for the writers on here and for those people we see face to face.

Look within a person when they speak. Don’t just hear their words. Listen to them. Often times they are saying much more than what you hear.

Take time out of your life to show love and compassion to those around you. You never know what kind of impact you may have on them. You may even give them a tomorrow that they wouldn’t have had otherwise.

sunrise

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Where Are They Now?

  1. This is a really wonderful post, like reeeeaaalllyy wonderful! Sometimes I wonder why I don’t have people like you in my life, if I had people like you in my life during my dark times things would have been much easier. You are gifted! And I want you to know I really appreciate you taking time to visit my blog.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Wow, thank you! I am very humbled by your words. You have no idea how much that means to me.

      There is one thing, among many others, that I love about this site. That is, that you *can* have people in your life that will help you along the way. It truly is a wonderful thing and I am so happy that people were able to help you overcome the things that come against you.

      Ultimately our life is up to us and it can be a beautiful thing…if we allow it to be. Stay strong. You’re not alone.

      Like

  2. It’s amazing the power of words. There are times when my words cannot convey my feelings even a little bit, especially with the war within my head at the time; sometimes just a simple ‘hang in there’ is all it takes.

    Like

    • mewhoami says:

      Yes, words do hold a lot of power. They can hurt and they can heal. As you said, sometimes it doesn’t take much; just a few simple words to let someone know that they can make it and that they’re not alone. Thank you for the comment.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

