The Unexpected Gift

Valentines Gift

Yesterday, I was surprised by the most precious gift. It wasn’t expensive or lavish. Instead, it was simple, creative and from the heart. It was given to me by a woman who is very special to my husband and I. Someone who I work alongside with and who I’ve seen go through many ups and downs over the years. Until yesterday though, I did not realize how much of an impact I’ve had on her life. The words written inside the card were so beautiful and heartfelt. She described a friend who means so much to her. A “good friend” who has taken over the role of a best friend she lost long ago and a friend who has helped her time and time again. It really humbled me. I told my husband later that I have a lot of work to do to become that person she spoke about in the card.

What that gift showed me, was that being a friend to someone is not work. It is not a difficult task to take on. It’s simply being there when someone needs you, giving them a shoulder to cry on and rejoicing with them when good things happen in their life. All it takes to be a true friend is love. Love is the key, because when you love someone all of the essential elements of friendship comes naturally. Receiving that gift yesterday was completely unexpected and it deeply touched my heart. It taught me also that what you do for others, be it large or small, may have a much greater impact on them than you realize.

It’s those unexpected gifts that touch me the most. They are not given out of obligation or because a certain day of the year rolls around. Instead, they are given out of love and genuine appreciation.

My husband and I aren’t too big on holiday gift giving. Don’t get me wrong, the gifts are sweet – giving them is always much better. But, he and I prefer giving to each other year round, whether it be as basic as our favorite candy bar or a beautiful bouquet of flowers. Those gifts, given ‘just because’ are the ones that say “I love you” the best.

This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Unexpected Gift

  1. I, too, love the “just because” gifts so much better than expected ones. I’m never disappointed with a surprise.

    Like

  2. zuhamazhar says:

    yeah it’s true and you feel so good when so eone goes out of their way just to appreciate you and your friendship 🙂 and these are the friends that are there for life and they stay by your side in Both good and bad times 🙂

    Like

  3. mewhoami says:

    I agree. Friends like those are few and far between, but they’re out there. Thank you for commenting!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

